MENU
DE EN NL

Holidays in Gerlos in Zillertal

Gerlos vacations - a time when the days barely melt away, like honey dripping from a spoon.  Gerlos is located high atop the Zillertal - a resort village both in summer and winter. The countless recreational opportunities guarantee an incomparable and unforgettable vacation for the whole family.


Ideal location & perfect starting point

Our Milchbar & Gerlosperle vacation apartments are the ideal base for all kinds of recreational activities in the Zillertal Arena. The free ski and hiking bus stops right outside the front door, bringing you comfortably and conveniently to the valley lift station of the Isskogelbahn as well as other recreational destinations in Zillertal. The snowy valley ski run drops all the way down to the center of Gerlos and ends right across from the Milchbar.

In summer, Gerlos is ideally suited for hiking, mountain bike tours and a variety of other outdoor activities in the Zillertal Arena. Gerlos fascinates hikers, mountaineers, climbers, mountain bikers, as well as rafting and paragliding fans with all it has to offer.

In winter, the broad Zillertal Arena ski area, with its 51 lifts and 139 kilometers of pistes, is a paradise for skiers and snowboarders.

Glorious winter hiking paths and cross-country ski trails in the surrounding countryside take you out to beautiful huts and our 5 side valleys.  

Enjoy a first-impression for yourself and learn more about the Zillertal Arena.

History of Gerlos

The name "Gerlos" comes from "Saltus Gerlaise". Ger = wedge of land, laise = bed of a wildwater stream, first documented in 1154. First settlement was by farmers in 1309. Meager settlement of the Zillertal actually began 1200 - 800 BC. Nowadays, Gerlos has a population of around 800 people, approx. 30 farms, 93 hotels - inns - guesthouses and around 6000 guest beds.

Until 1803, the Gerlos Pass was the only direct road link between Tyrol and Salzburg. In 1862, 3 inns already existed: the "Alpenrose", "Oberes Wirtshaus" "beim Gaspinger". 1890, there were still only 30 taverns in the entire Ziller Valley. Construction of a "real road" began in 1912. After contending with numerous problems, the road was not completed until 1962. 

Since 1816, the Gerlos Pass has formed the border between Tyrol and Salzburg, separating the Zillertal Alps from the Kitzbühler Alps. In 1967, the Durlassboden Reservoir was completed. It is 6 km in length, 55 metres deep and holds 52 million m³ of water! The nearby, 380m-high Krimml Waterfalls are the highest falls in the Eastern Alps. The 950 km-long Zillertal Alps are home to 85 ! 3-thousand-metre peaks! The Edelweiss blooms in the countryside around Gerlos, up to elevations of 3,000 metres. The highest point in the borough of Gerlos is the Reichenspitze with a height of 3,303 metres. There has been a house of worship here since 1470, but a parish priest only since 1679. Gerlos is the highest parish in the Salzburg archdiocese. The church, built to incorporate Baroque architecture, was constructed between 1730 and 1735. Gerlos also boasts the highest sailing school in Europe. Since 1923, the village has also had its own ski school. Tourism of note has only been a factor in Gerlos since around 1950. 

Winter vacation in the Zillertal
Reservoir in Gerlos
Summit cross
Latschensee
Gerlossteinwand
Gerlos in the Zillertal
Family vacation in the Zillertal Arena
Cross-country skiing
Fun park in the Zillertal Arena
rotate

MENU
jetzt buchen
DE EN NL

Urlaub in Gerlos im Zillertal

... ist die Zeit, in der die Tage wegtropfen wie der Honig vom Löffel! Hoch über dem Zillertal, im Herzen der Zillertal Arena auf 1.250m Höhe, liegt Gerlos, DER Ferienort für Ihren Sommer- und Winterurlaub in Tirol. Die zahlreichen Freizeitmöglichkeiten garantieren einen ausgeglichenen und unvergesslichen Aufenthalt im Zillertal für die ganze Familie.


Ideale Lage & perfekter Startpunkt

Unsere Ferienwohnungen Milchbar & Gerlosperle sind dabei der ideale Ausgangspunkt für vielfältige Freizeitaktivitäten in der Zillertal Arena. Der kostenlose Ski- und Wanderbus hält vor der Haustür und bringt Sie bequem zur Talstation der Isskogelbahn und den anderen Freizeitzielen im Zillertal. Die beschneite Abfahrt ins Ortszentrum von Gerlos endet gegenüber der Milchbar.

Im Sommer eignet sich Gerlos bestens für Wanderungen, Mountainbike-Touren und eine Vielzahl weiterer Freizeitaktivitäten in der Zillertal Arena. Gerlos fasziniert Wanderer, Kletterer, Bergsteiger, Mountainbiker und Rafting- und Paragliding-Fans mit all seinen Facetten.

Im Winter bietet das weitläufige Skigebiet der Zillertal Arena mit 51 Liftanlagen und 139 Pistenkilometer ein Paradies für Skifahrer und Snowboarder.

Herrliche Winterwanderwege und Langlauf-Loipen in der Umgebung bringen Sie auf wunderschöne Almen oder in eines der 5 Seitentäler. 

Machen Sie sich selber ein Bild und erfahren Sie hier mehr über die Ferienregion Zillertal Arena.

Geschichtliches über Gerlos

Der Name Gerlos stammt von "Saltus Gerlaise" (ger = spitzes Grundstück, laise = Wildbachbett) und wurde erstmals 1154 erwähnt. Um 1309 siedelten sich die ersten Bauern an, wobei die Besiedelung des Zillertales bereits zwischen 1200 - 800 v. Chr. begann. Heute zählt Gerlos ca. 800 Einwohner mit knapp 30 Landwirtschaften, 93 Hotels, Gasthäuser und Pensionen und ca. 6000 Gästebetten.

Bis 1803 war der Gerlospass die einzige direkte Straßenverbindung zwischen Tirol und Salzburg. 1862 existierten bereits drei Gasthäuser: "Alpenrose", "Oberes Wirtshaus" "beim Gaspinger". 1890 gab es nur 30 Gaststätten im ganzen Zillertal. 1912 wurde mit dem Bau einer asphaltierten Straße begonnen, wobei sie erst 1962 nach zahlreichen Schwierigkeiten fertiggestellt werden konnte.

Seit 1816 bildet der Gerlospaß die Grenze zwischen Tirol und Salzburg und trennt die Zillertaler- und die Kitzbühler Alpen. 1967 wurde der Durlaßboden-Stausee fertiggestellt, der 6 km lang, 2 km breit und 55 m tief ist und 52 Millionen m³ Wasser fasst. Die nahe gelegenen, 380 m langen Krimmler Wasserfälle sind die höchsten der Ostalpen. In den 950 km langen Zillertaler Alpen befinden sich 85 (!) "Dreitausender". Das Edelweiß blüht rund um Gerlos bis in eine Höhe von 3000 Metern. Höchster Punkt der Gemeinde Gerlos ist die Reichenspitze mit 3.303 Metern. Seit 1470 gibt es in Gerlos ein Gotteshaus, einen Pfarrer jedoch erst seit 1679. Gerlos ist die höchstgelegenste Pfarre des Erzbistums Salzburg. Die Kirche, im barocken Saalbau, wurde von 1730 bis 1735 erbaut. Gerlos verfügt über die höchstgelegenste Segelschule Europas. 1923 wurde die erste Schischule in Gerlos eröffnet, wobei man von nennenswertem Tourismus in Gerlos erst ab 1950 sprechen kann. 

Winterurlaub im Zillertal
Stausee in Gerlos
Gipfelkreuz
Latschensee
Gerlossteinwand
Gerlos im Zillertal
Familienurlaub in der Zillertal Arena
Langlaufen
Funpark in der Zillertal Arena
rotate